The Diocese of Växjö is situated in southern central Sweden, in the region known as Småland. There are three major centres of population in the county towns of Växjö (also the cathedral city, and with a university), Jönköping (which has a university college) and Kalmar (which also has a university college). Each of these has a population of between 45,000 and 60,000. Otherwise the diocese is mainly lakes and forests with small towns and villages interspersed. The population of the whole diocese is about 610,000.  There are currently 97 pastorates (roughly equivalent to benefices) comprising 197 parishes.  Excluding those who have retired, there are 323 priests, of whom 107 are women. 27 of the men and 33 of the women also have other employment (for example as teachers or doctors). A reorganisation of deanery boundaries has been implemented in 2012, reducing the previous total of 15 to 8.


V Boundaries


Christianity was introduced to the area in the 11th century by an English missionary monk and bishop from York, Saint Sigfrid. The cathedral was built between the 12th and 15th centuries. Småland is the centre of the glass-making industry in Sweden and is sometimes referred to as “The Kingdom of Glass” (Glassriket).

V Cathedral

Kingdom of Glass


Kalmar was once a diocese

The Diocese of Växjö has a second (baroque) cathedral church in Kalmar, which is no longer formally a cathedral, since the diocese of Kalmar was amalgamated with Växjö in August 1915. It does, however, retain the episcopal crosier, cope and mitre, which the bishop is expected to wear when he visits.

Kalmar Cathedral

The Diocese of Växjö leaflet is available here.